Friday, 25 November 2011


Dinning Room in the McFarland House


December 2, 3 & 4 | 10 am - 4 pm
Regular Admission Applies

Enjoy a lush Victorian Christmas at McFarland
House with all natural, historic decorations.
McFarland House is also part of the Niagara-onthe-Lake
Rotary Holiday House Tour. As always
there will be hundreds of homemade Christmas
cookies, hot chocolate, and mulled cider to delight
your senses and tempt the palate once you step
inside! Please note: this is an open house event
weekend; table service in the tea room is not in
operation for this special event.


December 10 & 11 | 12 - 5 pm
Regular Admission Applies

Please join us as we reopen the Conservatory Tea
Room for a precious weekend to celebrate the
Holiday Season! Reservations are recommended
for this special treat. This will be the first time in
history that McFarland House has been open for
Afternoon Tea at Christmas-time.

Please call (905) 468-3322 for more information
15927 Niagara Parkway , Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Now for a little bit of history and trivia 
facts for the history buffs!!

McFarland House Facts & Figures
  • Built in 1800 by John McFarland and his sons, on land granted to him by King George III
  • One of the few buildings in Niagara-on-the-Lake which pre-dates the War of 1812
  • Used as a hospital and headquarters for both the British and American armies during the War of 1812. It was also the location of a cannon battery created to protect the Niagara River
  • Built on a ravine that was used as the launch point for the British attack on Fort Niagara in 1813
  • Beautifully restored by The Niagara Parks Commission and opened to the public in 1959



Visit Niagara Parks' Oldest PropertyGrounds at the McFarland House
For more than two centuries McFarland House has stood as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake.Visit us and experience a taste of Georgian style and pace. Qualified costumed interpreters provide guided tours of this historic home throughout the day.
Come visit this gem - built in 1800, the House is the oldest property owned by The Niagara Parks Commission.
Located in a picturesque park setting with playground facilities and a baseball diamond, the House is adjacent to the Niagara River Recreation Trail. McFarland Park also offers a covered picnic pavilion which seats approximately 250 people, with water and washroom facilities nearby.
In preparation for the Bicentennial of the War of 1812 McFarland House has undergone some much needed renovations since last season. This is the first occasion that such large scale improvements have been made to the property. The house was last renovated in 1955 before the site opened to the public in the spring of 1959.

We are very proud of these enhancements to our facilities which will allow us to better serve our guests. We have built a new historically inspired conservatory, created modern washrooms, and drastically renovated the interior spaces within the back wing of the home to make the property more accessible and welcoming for all who come to visit.

No comments:

Post a Comment